Clay County MN Criminal and Court

Lookup Public Records on Anyone in Clay County, MN. Results Include: Court Records, Legal Documents, Birth and Death Certificates, Property Ownership, Vital Statistics, Military Discharges, Federal Judgements, Federal/State tax liens.

Clay County Minnesota Public Records

Clay County is located in the state of Minnesota, the county was formed in 1862 and organized in 1872. The county was named in honor of American statesman Henry Clay who was a United States Secretary of State and a member of the United States Senate from Kentucky in the 19th century. Moorhead is the largest city in  the county and also the county seat. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a population of approximately 58,999 people and a total area of 1,053 square miles (2,730 km2), of which 7.3 square miles (19 km2) (0.7%) is water and 1,045 square miles (2,710 km2) is land. The county has a number of cities which include: Barnesville, Comstock, Dilworth, Felton, Georgetown,  Glyndon, Hawley, Hitterdal, Moorhead (county seat), Sabin and Ulen.

Clay County borders the following counties: Norman County to the north, Becker County to the east, Otter Tail County to the southeast, Wilkin County to the south, Richland County, North Dakota to the southwest and Cass County, North Dakota  and west. The following are the major highways in the county: Interstate 94, U.S. Highway 10, U.S. Highway 52, U.S. Highway 75, Minnesota State Highway 9, Minnesota State Highway 32, Minnesota State Highway 34 and Minnesota State Highway 336

Dianne M. Streifel is the county recorder, her office is responsible for all legal records pertaining to:

  • Real estate
  • Birth
  • Death
  • Marriage
  • Marriage credentials
  • Notary public registration
  • State / Federal tax liens

To access Clay County public records, visit Records Search, if you are not able to access the records that you want,  you will be required to fill out the records request form and submit it to the recorder’s office. Alternatively you can call the recorder’s office through 218-299-5031 for any enquiries regarding public records.

Below is the physical address of the recorder’s office;

807 11th St. N.
Moorhead, MN 56560

Opening hours:

Monday – Friday

8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.